State Attorneys General MoneyGram Settlement

Welcome to the State Attorneys General MoneyGram Settlement Website

Notice of Settlement

An agreement has been reached between 49 states and The District of Columbia (“the Participating States”)* to resolve the Participating States’ Attorneys General investigation of MoneyGram’s Money Transfer services. In particular, the States reviewed complaints of consumers who used MoneyGram’s wire transfer service to send money to third parties who were involved in schemes to defraud consumers and also reviewed MoneyGram’s efforts to maintain effective anti-fraud measures to prevent consumers from suffering financial losses as a result of these fraud induced money transfers. The States’ settlement provides that refund payments will be made to eligible consumers.  Eligible consumers are those who previously filed complaints with MoneyGram, related to fraud induced money transfers sent from a MoneyGram agent in the United States to a recipient located in a foreign country (other than Canada) between September 1, 2009, and November 4, 2009 and have not already received payment.  An independent third party settlement administrator (KCC Gilardi) has been appointed and will be mailing notices to eligible consumers containing further instructions on how to receive a restitution payment. 

Please continue to check this website for updates on how to file a claim. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the Settlement Administrator by phone at 888-566-1411 or you may email 

MoneyGram Payment Systems
Settlement Administrator
P.O. Box 40007
College Station, TX 77842-4007

Please be aware that neither the Settlement Administrator nor any of the States involved in this settlement will be contacting you asking for payment or asking for your financial personal information.   If anyone calls you or contacts you asking for payment or your personal information, do not provide it and report what has happened to your Attorney General's Consumer Protection Division.

* the following participated in the settlement: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.